There is nothing in the world that takes from you that you do not first give.

The notion of psychic self defense is a case in point. Many people promulgate this idea that psychic defense must involve building impenetrable walls of energy so the bad vibes can’t come in.

You attract based on what you give out. This is done on both a conscious and subconscious level. One you are aware of, and the other involves repressed emotion you’d rather not even think about. What is so difficult for many people is being able to dive deep enough to get down into the part of themselves where this repressed material resides in order to root it out. Most often this happens during moments of great epiphany or great crisis.  There is another way, though.  The axiom “Know thyself” becomes so important in this kind of discovery/recovery.  Until the ghosts from your past are cleared, their memory will tend to continue to haunt you. The ways this takes shape are in these strange attractants we can sometimes have for people, jobs, or even events that seem to be drawing all the wrong things into our lives.  Our head is saying one thing while deeper down this lack of resolution is playing out like a reverberating energy that still has its effect on the world around you.

A case in point….I have an old friend from high school who I knew for many years.  We went to high school together and we kept touch over the years.  I saw how she went from relationship to relationship with the same scenario playing out over and over. She would call me up in the middle of the night sobbing, asking me why on earth she  had radar for these people.  I had no answer for her back in those days when I was in college.  But as the years have rolled on and I have seen this similar principle at work in other friends’ lives as well as my own, I can say that absolutely that it was her relationship with her father that created the pattern for her likes and attractions later on in her life.  See, she had a fractious relationship with her father who was really very hard on her.  He made her feel like he thought she was a spoiled princess, and further, that she wasn’t really loved.  And?  As she grew into full adulthood and began having serious relationships, she met man after man who almost magically would have these hidden fractures in him that would mirror the unresolved stuff from her father.

In another case, I had a friend who was in the art department along with me who had a mother who died when she was young.  this resulted in two rather difficult things for her that I saw play out over several decades.  One was that she had this deep-seated craving, this yearning, that could not be filled.  And why do you think this was so?  She didn’t get enough of something from her Mother.  She wound up playing this out over and over through most of her relationships and the end result was that she was never fully satisfied.  Finally she managed to find someone who she was able to spend a significant part of her life with.  A couple of years ago, her husband died with the same disease her mother had.  Then, a year later, she met a new love interest and a year after meeting him, he too succumbed to the same disease yet again.  Before her last boyfriend passed away, I said that I felt like there was some sense of her mother and something that was unresolved in her that may make this something of a pattern.  She didn’t take me too seriously when I said that because all of this kind of talk sounds crazy to someone who has not become self aware enough to begin seeing the patterns like I do.  I told her how sorry I was about her last boyfriend’s passing.  I asked her if she remembered our conversation about her mother and she still brought up this resistance.  That was a sign to me that she just wasn’t ready to look at it.

These examples are only a few of the same principle at work in people’s lives.  I have friends who lost fathers, or who had a certain trauma in childhood.  Whatever it was that they were not able to make peace with, it always played out recursively in their lives later on.  The faces change, and the personalities change, and nothing is ever exactly the same, but until you are able to heal that hurt in you that has you holding on, this has the effect of sending out ripples of attraction all around you.  And you will be just as attracted to another as they are to you if the wound is similar or complimentary.  You don’t have to be aware of it for it to create the effect that it does.  And yes, as I explained to my friend, you don’t have to consciously WANT it.  This isn’t about what your mind or rational self wants. Ego is designed to protect the self, and it does an admirable job of doing that.  This is what you are not finished with.  You are flavoring the air around you all the time with the scent of something that you unknowingly carry around.

When I had experienced a deep emotional wound from my spouse in my marriage, a deep form of betrayal that involved turning one of my children against me, I later found after we parted ways that I attracted a person who would do all of the same things my ex had done to me but to a different audience.  When this happened I had a “why me?” moment, but I also knew deeper down that this was happening because of the hurt that I was not finished with.  As a result it meant that I was vulnerable in certain relationships to people like this.  In fact, we can wind up being more powerfully attracted to these people than we might be to people who will treat us with love and the respect that feeds our hearts and souls.  And what happens in our physical lives also happens in our psychic lives.  If your life is a mess on the outside, then it is a mess on the inside, too, and when it comes to psychic defense as it is called, you are working with a very compromised heart and mind.

The way is through working with the more deeply rooted material and really working it out of yourself.  Being able to go deep within your feelings and not fear them is the first step.  This is why a simple guided imagery exercise with someone who is not there to judge you in any way can be a liberating experience.  To feel held in a place of care and deep trust, you can drift deeper than you may have ever gone before in order to get to the root cause of these feelings that snag you and keep you from realizing your full potential. In other writing I explain how this emotional material is also stored in the energy body and that the energy field which has lines for force running through it carry the actual energetic compliments of the emotional energy.  By massaging and doing energy work and acupressure, you can release these blocks in a very physical way.  You can release through movement, from ecstatic dance, deep tissue massage,  Chi Gung, or acupressure/ to acupuncture.  You can also do the work through meditation coupled with breath work, carefully and gently directing your awareness to all of the centers in the body and resting there as you breathe.  So much of the yogic tradition, most specifically pranayama, hatha, and kundalini yoga are designed to release this stored material in the body.  You only need to experience the feeling of release once to become a believer!

This is why an experience of awakening can be so freeing and healing. People all over the world are discovering how to free this blocked material in order to more deeply access the source of their creative selves…which taps deep into our nature as infinite and divine beings existing in time whilst being aware of transcending all time and place. The presence of prana in abundance does the same thing that pranayama and massage and acupuncture and chi gung (to name a few) also do.

Resisting buys you resistance. Surrender buys you surrender. Like attracts like. When you heal the repressed emotion within you, it is like removing energetic Velcro from your innermost being. Then, the deeper truth of your nature can be known. It is free now to flow, and this is a beautiful feeling. Nothing sticks or pulls or feeds or bothers you. No moths to the flame, no trouble that buzzes around you. This is the deeper truth of impenetrability: it is as Taishen Deshimuru once described as “The sands of all the deserts flow through your hands.”

Many years ago I removed a lower vibrational entity from someone whom I loved. My third eye, which had been opened so that my whole head was ringed in its vibrating bands of force, brought my inner awareness to a peak state so that I saw this being clearly and enabled me to know things about this being as though I had read an encyclopedia about it. This entity had dogged this woman her whole life, taking up space in her life as very troublesome dreams that led her to be an insomniac. It was a hard way to have to live.

I asked her if she wanted it gone. I had been experiencing this being before having met her and was wondering what on earth was going on.  I had never seen such a being before and it was very bizarre because it was as though I had been put on the scent of this being before meeting the person it was attached to.  When she began telling me about this being, my jaw dropped because what she was describing was exactly what I had been seeing.  This was all very specific.  Was it merely a coincidence?  I asked her if maybe I had come in perfect timing to get rid of this thing.  Her answer was…interesting. She said, “Yes!!!” But then later she admitted that it was something of a guilty pleasure, too, which she admitted feeling bad about.

Her mind, her rational self, told her that this was a problem and it had to go. Deeper down, the broken part which she had repressed, was not so sure. It was the unhealed part of her that was attracting this entity. This is important to understand because we are all similar in this regard.  Yes, we might have a very broken feeling inside of us, but we really need to be ready to get rid of it.  Sometimes the subconscious is just not ready.  Other times we can use the conscious self to help bring change deeper down.  Sometimes the deeper self brings the same kind of change, too.

She believed enough that I could remove this being that it led to the success that I had when I did remove it. Not realizing it at the time, it was a “get behind me” moment where the entity could no longer enter her field. What was going on here? For healers, this is a very useful awareness…which is the person who wants to be healed is actually the healer.

My own capacity to surrogate the feeling of healing in her helped to make the effort effective. The process meant that she gave herself permission to heal just as I was able to move the being away from her. The entity was gone. It never came back.

This is an example of how we can heal….either by our own wits or with others serving as catalysts for that change. The important point is that the “hooks” were given permission to heal. And they were. Those hooks no longer put out the low ebb of vibration that attracted this being. It was not in her, it was not in her experience any longer. There was nothing to connect to…the Velcro changed shape so it no longer could stick to its compliment.

We do not resist by building walls. We are like river beds that let everything flow. No resistance, no trouble, no problems.

Remove the stones in your path. They belong to no one but yourself. Own your reactions, actions, and attractions. Give yourself permission to just let it go. This is the true form of “defense” which erases any of your reaction to anything that seems to be taking something from you. Nothing ever takes what you do not first give.

Awareness is everything.

