book blogI promised myself I would not read other sources on awakening while writing my book.  This was not meant to be a term paper, a thesis, something that leaned on the past through countless well-researched sources.  Mind you, I teach and have had a lot of schooling so I have had plenty of work under my belt where it comes to research.  It wasn’t that I eschew research, no, I just wanted this to come from me alone.  I wanted to know that if I was seeing things rightly, that other sources would naturally agree.  This wasn’t about reinventing the wheel necessarily, although I was up for something along those lines if something new popped up.  Okay, if not a wheel, then a few extra fancy spokes in the wheel.  :smiles:

So as many know, the bulk of the book is done.  Whoo-hoo! This has freed me up to begin wandering and reading some things, and in a way I think I have been thirsty for this.  I have been thirsty less to learn but to taste the different flavors in this experience.  We all know how to discern, to read and take what works and leave the rest.  What we don’t understand, it may resolve into comprehensibility at a later date, right?  You are ready when you are ready, and the things is, the universe has a way of bringing it to you (least it does for me) in perfect, sometimes amazing timing.  This fills me with so much hope and it also teaches me that I need to be more trusting that the same is happening for everyone else.  Seems as humans we have struck out on Crusades and all kinds of rather righteous campaigns in the past untrusting that the truth will resolve within when it’s perfectly suited or time.  I know that may sound like some kind of New Age wishy-washy stuff, but you know, I know it is true.  What I am about to relate to you is another example of this.  It makes me happy.  It makes me hopeful.  It adds a  little extra glisten to the moment I suppose.

So I decided I wanted to find me an old juicy text from China that was not cluttered with someone’s own ideas about what it means who is writing from the present or semi-present.  I had finished up the book I was writing by doing some research on Carl Jung’s concept he coined called synchronicity.  I know I said I didn’t do any research in my book, and mostly this is true, but I felt a duty to make sure I was not taking anything for granted about what I thought I understood Jung to have said as it relates to this term he came up with for this phenomenon.  It was while doing this that I came across some quotes he included from some Taoist sages, and some of them I liked because they seemed to be on the mark to me.  I jotted down their names and decided I would go to the university library to look up some books on them to see if they had something interesting to say about awakening.

I dutifully searched the card catalog and wondered to myself if this was really the right approach.  Understand that all of my research that I have done for my book were all books or sources that came to me by unusual routes.  When I was working on the chapters having to do with coping with kundalini and accelerating healing blocks, for example, I had a series of unusual events that happened where I had different people told me about how the role of movement helped to heal past trauma.  This was one of those woo-woo kind of events that happen frequently where information just falls into my lap without my looking for it.  It was a great way to do research.  It just would come to me.  So as a result, I wondered if this was the best way to do it, looking for a source instead of letting one just fall into my lap.  I dutifully wrote down the sources and went looking for them anyway.

So there I was in the stacks getting the books I searched for.  Taoists.  While I was there, though, I noticed a random book in the stacks that jumped out at me.  It jumped out because it was so small, so thin.  I pulled it out not knowing what its title was, the binding was so narrow along the back.  I took my books and decided I would leaf through this little book with the pretty flowers on the cover.  It was called The Secret Of The Golden Flower.  Was it poetry, maybe?  I looked inside while taking the books to check them out and thought maybe so because it looked like it was divided up into verses.

I got the books home and read through some of the Taoist sages Jung had referenced.  They were okay, but honestly, there wasn’t a lot there that spoke to much about awakening.  But this book, this accidental find, this casual pluck from the shelves turned out to be one of the big books about awakening.  Perfect.

So I have been reading this book, and I like it because the person translating it keeps his own commentary out of the writing itself.  In an interesting twist, he mentions Carl Jung in the book, a point that I had not noticed in the information I was researching when working on the material for Jung.  I searched through Jung’s book Synchronicity and did not find any mention of the book in the portions I had read, but found it later.

It is interesting how the book itself was written.  It was a problem I sought to correct in my own, which was that ideas were brought up recursively throughout, over and over, instead of a straight line progression.  Always returning to the lamp, the light, turning within.  I am not sure that it is written in a style that westerners can relate to.  And yet, this is not something you can really write and describe.  it is less an idea you apprehend and more that it is yourself that you apprehend.  Like dry pressed flowers between the shaves of a forgotten book, the remnants only speak vacantly of the great life which once existed within the one-dimensional faces of fading beauty.

The Secret of the Golden Flower, translated by Thomas Cleary.  It is, I suspect, the best translation into English.  If you are reading this and your native language is not English, my guess is that a book like this will be translated into still other languages.  It forms the corpus of nondual understanding in a simple frame.  After all, the universe conspired that I pluck it from the shadowy shelves of that vast library of books only a few days ago.

